A public body may make reasonable charges not to exceed its actual cost incurred in accessing, duplicating, supplying, or searching for the requested records. No public body shall impose any extraneous, intermediary, or surplus fees or expenses to recoup the general costs associated with creating or maintaining records or transacting the general business of the public body. Any duplicating fee charged by a public body shall not exceed the actual cost of duplication. All charges for the supplying of requested records shall be estimated in advance at the request of the citizen as set forth in subsection F of § 2.2-3704 of the Code of Virginia.
Virginia law is quite specific about who may obtain copies of certain police records, accident reports, record checks, fingerprinting services and photographs. If you are eligible to receive such reports, they are normally available from the Chesterfield County Police Records Unit. These offices are open from 8:30 a.m.- 4 p.m. Monday-Friday, excluding holidays. Records Customer Service is located at the main entrance of Chesterfield County Police Headquarters, 10001 Iron Bridge Road, Chesterfield, Virginia 23832. Questions about the availability of a report or service may be directed to the Records Unit at 804-748-1260.
Requests may be mailed to:
Chesterfield County Police Department
ATTN: Police Records
P. O. Box 148
Chesterfield, Virginia 23832
Copies of motor vehicle accident reports, that are completed by a police officer at the time of an accident, may be obtained by persons involved in the accident and named on the report and may be requested by mail, in person, or by an insurance company. There is an $8 charge for a copy of an accident report. Such reports are normally available approximately five business days after the accident. The following people are authorized to receive a copy of an accident report:
the driver of the vehicle(s) involved,
- the registered owner of the vehicle (with proper identification and vehicle registration),
- an attorney or investigator representing an involved party,
- a representative of an insurance carrier covering an involved party,
- a parent or guardian of a minor involved in the accident (if under 18 years old),
- or any person injured as a result of the accident and is listed in the report
- any person listed with property damage
If you are requesting a copy of an accident report by mail, please include a check or money order for $8 made payable to the Treasurer, Chesterfield County, and send the request to the address listed above.
Criminal History Record Checks
An individual may request a check of their Chesterfield County Police record by appearing in person at the Records Unit during the hours indicated above. This records check covers Chesterfield County only and can only be released to the person requesting the record check. If a state record check is needed contact the Virginia State Police at (804) 674-2000. You must be 18 years of age or older and have a valid identification that includes a picture. The process takes approximately three to five business days and requires a $10 processing fee. Your request must be picked up within 10 business days following notification that the record check is ready for pick up. If you are unable to pick up your record check within the 10-day period, your request will be destroyed and you must begin the process again and pay another processing fee. If you are under 18 years of age, you should contact the Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court Service Unit at (804) 748-1379. For questions about making a record check request from out of state or from other jurisdictions, please call (804) 748-1260.
The Chesterfield County Police Department's Records Unit will provide limited fingerprinting services under certain conditions. The individual requesting these services must provide their own fingerprint card(s) and must have two valid forms of identification. One of those must include a photo. Acceptable identification includes a valid state issued driver's license, a current DMV issued photo identification card, a U.S. passport, or a military identification card. If you do not have two valid forms of identification from this list, you may use one valid form of this identification, PLUS one of the following: birth certificate, social security card, voter registration card, vehicle registration/title, or a current immigration naturalization card. The fingerprinting processing fee is $10 for the first card and $5 for each additional card. This fee must be paid at the Police Records Unit office prior to fingerprinting. Persons petitioning for a court ordered expungement of their criminal record must have their fingerprints taken by the Records Unit after they have filed their petition and received a copy of their charge and disposition. The Records Unit is normally open for fingerprinting from 8:30 a.m. through 4 p.m. (must arrive by 3:30 p.m.) , Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday, and from 8:30 a.m. through 11:30 a.m. (must arrive by 11 a.m.) on Thursdays. For questions about fingerprinting services, you may contact the Records Unit at 804-748-1260.
Request for Offense Reports
Verification of offense reports may be requested by the party or parties involved and by their insurance company through the mail or in person. There is a $10 processing fee for the offense verification report. Each report will include: the victim's name and address, the police department's file number, the type of offense, the location of the offense, the date reported, the officer assigned, and a description of any stolen/damaged property and its disposition. Under certain circumstances, victims of domestic violence may be entitled to a copy of the police report without paying the fee. For more information, please contact the Chesterfield County Police Records Unit at (804) 748-1260.
Request for Photographs
Photographs of accidents may be requested by the party or parties involved in the accident and are available by contacting the Chesterfield County Police Records Unit at (804) 748-1260 or by making your request in person at the above address. There is normally a fee associated with each request and it varies dependent upon the size and printing quality of the photograph(s). All photographs must be picked up at the above address, as we do not normally mail them. For more information, please contact the Chesterfield County Police Records Unit at (804) 748-1260.